Jonas Vingegaard Shocks Cycling World with Tour de France Victory

Jonas Vingegaard: From Fish Market to Tour de France Champion

Just a couple of years ago, Jonas Vingegaard was working at a fish market in Denmark. But now, he basks in the glory as the 2022 Tour de France champion, donning the iconic yellow jersey and riding into Paris amid thunderous applause.

Vingegaard, a member of Jumbo-Visma, made his Tour de France debut last year and impressed with a remarkable second-place finish behind Tadej Pogacar. However, this year, he surpassed all expectations and claimed the ultimate victory, preventing Pogacar from securing a third consecutive yellow jersey.

The Triumph of Jonas Vingegaard

The 2022 edition of the Tour de France commenced with the Grand Depart in Copenhagen, featuring the first three stages set in Denmark. It only seems fitting, then, that a Danish rider like Vingegaard would become the proud wearer of the prestigious “maillot jaune.”

Let’s take a look at the final general classification standings of the 2022 Tour de France:

  • Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) – 79:33:20
  • Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) – +2:43
  • Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) – +7:22
  • David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ) – +13:39
  • Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) – +15:46

Pogacar, the Slovenian rider who triumphed in the 2020 and 2021 Tour de France, finished in second place this year. Despite being the favorite, he lost his lead in the Alps and was unable to recover. Geraint Thomas, the 2018 Tour de France champion, secured a podium finish in third place for Ineos Grenadiers.

Jumbo-Visma’s Dominance

The Jumbo-Visma team entered the 2022 Tour de France with a clear mission: to claim the yellow jersey. In 2020, their rider Primoz Roglic lost the first-place position to Pogacar on the penultimate stage, a heartbreaking defeat. Seeking redemption, both Roglic and Jumbo-Visma had their sights set on last year’s tour. However, unfortunate crashes during the first week of the race prematurely ended Roglic’s chances. It was then that Vingegaard emerged as the primary contender for the general classification, delivering a sensational second-place finish.

Heading into the 2022 Tour de France, Jumbo-Visma had two potential general classification contenders in Roglic and Vingegaard. Sadly for Roglic, he crashed on the treacherous cobblestones during Stage 5, forcing him to withdraw due to injuries. Once again, Vingegaard stepped up and took on the role of Jumbo-Visma’s main rider.

Vingegaard’s teammate, Wout van Aert, secured a stage victory in Stage 4 after finishing as the runner-up in the first three stages. Van Aert held onto the yellow jersey for four stages before Pogacar emerged victorious in Stage 6. However, Pogacar’s reign in the yellow jersey was short-lived as Vingegaard seized the opportunity in the Alps. On the challenging Col du Granon, Pogacar faltered, allowing Vingegaard to claim his first-ever stage win and don the coveted yellow jersey in Stage 11. Impressively, Vingegaard defended his lead for the remaining 10 stages.

Many anticipated that Pogacar would make a strong move in the Pyrenees to regain the lead and the yellow jersey. However, Jumbo-Visma proved to be a superior team compared to UAE Team Emirates, and Vingegaard never allowed Pogacar to make significant gains. Pogacar’s crash in Stage 18 and subsequent struggles on the final ascent at Hautacam ultimately sealed his fate.

Stage Results and Notable Achievements

Throughout the 2022 Tour de France, Wout van Aert showcased his sprinting prowess and secured three stage victories, earning him the green jersey as the top sprinter in the peloton. Pogacar also claimed three stage wins, the highest number for an individual rider this year.

It took 19 stages before a Frenchman emerged victorious, with Christophe Laporte of Jumbo-Visma taking the sprint victory at Cahors. Jumbo-Visma proved to be the most successful team, with six stage wins distributed among three different riders.

Here are the winners of each stage in the 2022 Tour de France:


Picture of Doug I. Jones

Doug I. Jones

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, cons the all tetur adiscing elit

Get Updates On Future Events

sign up to our newsletter





4713 Columbia Mine Road

© 2024, DETECH

Stage Winner Type Yellow Jersey
1 Yves Lampaert (QuickStep-Alpha Vinyl) Time Trial Yves Lampaert
2 Fabio Jakobsen (QuickStep-Alpha Vinyl) Flat Wout van Aert
3 Dylan Groenewegen (BikeExchange) Flat Wout van Aert
4 Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) Hilly Wout van Aert
5 Simon Clarke (Israel-Premier Tech) Hilly Wout van Aert
6 Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) Hilly Tadej Pogacar
7 Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) Mountain Tadej Pogacar
8 Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) Hilly Tadej Pogacar
9 Bob Jungels (AG2R Citroen) Mountain Tadej Pogacar
10 Magnus Cort (EF Education-EasyPost) Hilly Tadej Pogacar
11 Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) Mountain Jonas Vingegaard
12 Tom Pidcock (Ineos) Mountain Jonas Vingegaard
13 Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) Flat