Knicks Go Claims Coveted 2021 Eclipse Award for Horse of the Year

Knicks Go: 2021 Horse of the Year

In a thrilling display of speed and dominance, Knicks Go secured the prestigious title of Horse of the Year at the annual Eclipse Awards held at Santa Anita Park. Known for his explosive running style, the now-6-year-old horse galloped to victory in several notable races throughout the year, solidifying his claim to the esteemed award.

Under the guidance of jockey Joel Rosario, Knicks Go not only won the Horse of the Year accolade but also clinched the Champion Older Male Eclipses. This dynamic duo showcased their exceptional talent and synergy, earning them well-deserved recognition in the racing world.

A Stellar Season and Unmatched Performance

Knick Go’s remarkable year included triumphs in three Grade 1 races: the Pegasus World Cup, the Whitney, and the Breeders’ Cup Classic. These victories, along with his wins in the Grade 3 Cornhusker Handicap at Prairie Meadows and the ungraded Lukas Classic at Churchill Downs, propelled him to earn a staggering $7,324,140 in total earnings. This outstanding feat positioned Knicks Go at the top of the North American earnings table, solidifying his status as one of the most successful racehorses of the year.

As a result of his incredible achievements, Knicks Go now retires as the number one ranked horse in the world according to the Longines World’s Best Racehorse rankings. His exceptional speed and unwavering determination have left an indelible mark on the horse racing industry.

Outstanding Performances Recognized: Eclipse Awards Winners

Brad Cox: Outstanding Trainer for the Second Consecutive Year

Another notable winner at the Eclipse Awards was trainer Brad Cox, who clinched the title of Outstanding Trainer for the second consecutive year. Cox’s skill and expertise were evident throughout the racing season, as his horses amassed a staggering $31,001,731 in earnings from 269 victories, including 30 graded stakes wins. This exceptional performance solidified Cox’s position as one of the most successful trainers in North American racing.

Essential Quality: Champion 3-Year-Old Male and Eclipse Bookend

Essential Quality, trained by Brad Cox, claimed his second Eclipse Award, reaffirming his exceptional talent and versatility. After winning the Champion 2-Year-Old award in 2020, Essential Quality continued to impress in his three-year-old campaign.

Essential Quality’s victories in the Belmont Stakes, the Blue Grass Stakes, and the Travers Stakes showcased his remarkable abilities and solidified his position as one of the top contenders in his age group. Although he finished third in the Breeders’ Cup Classic, Essential Quality’s overall performance earned him the well-deserved title of Champion 3-Year-Old Male and completed an impressive Eclipse Awards bookend.

Letruska, Malathaat, and Echo Zulu: Dominant Performances

Several other exceptional racehorses were honored at the Eclipse Awards for their outstanding performances. Letruska secured the Eclipse for Champion Older Female after winning six graded stakes races, including three Grade 1s, showcasing her dominance on the track.

Malathaat captured the Champion 3-Year-Old Filly Eclipse with her victories in the Ashland, the Kentucky Oaks, and the Alabama. Her remarkable achievements earned her overwhelming support from voters and solidified her status as one of the top fillies of her generation.

Echo Zulu emerged as the clear winner in the Champion 2-Year-Old Filly category, with an impressive record of four consecutive victories, culminating in a resounding triumph in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies.

Recognizing Excellence: Eclipse Awards Winners List

Horse of the Year

  • Knicks Go

Two-Year-Old Male

  • Corniche

Two-Year-Old Filly

  • Echo Zulu

Three-Year-Old Male

  • Essential Quality

Three-Year-Old Female

  • Malathaat

Older Dirt Male

  • Knicks Go

Older Dirt Female

  • Letruska

Male Sprinter

  • Jackie’s Warrior

Female Sprinter

  • Ce Ce

Male Turf Horse

  • Yibir

Female Turf Horse

  • Loves Only You

Steeplechase Horse

  • The Mean Queen

Trainer of the Year

  • Brad Cox

Jockey of the Year

  • Joel Rosario

Owner of the Year

  • Godolphin

Breeders of the Year

  • Godolphin

Apprentice Jockey of the Year

  • Jessica Pyfer
Doug I. Jones

Doug I. Jones

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, cons the all tetur adiscing elit