Nikola Jokic Secures Double NBA MVP Victory

Nikola Jokic Wins Consecutive NBA MVP

In a tightly contested race, Nikola Jokic from the Denver Nuggets has emerged as the winner of the 2022 NBA MVP. This victory marks Jokic’s second consecutive MVP win, placing him among a prestigious group of players who have achieved this rare feat. Despite facing challenges due to the absence of key players on his team, Jokic’s outstanding performance and leadership propelled the Nuggets to secure a spot in the playoffs as the sixth seed.

Carrying the Nuggets

Jokic admirably shouldered the responsibility of leading the Nuggets in a season where Jamal Murray was sidelined with an ACL injury and Michael Porter Jr. suffered a back injury early on. Despite being without two key contributors, the Nuggets were able to qualify for the playoffs, all thanks to Jokic’s exceptional skills and determination.

A Historic Season for Jokic

Jokic’s performance this season was nothing short of extraordinary. He made NBA history by becoming the first player ever to record 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds, and 500 assists in a single season. Averaging 27.1 points, 13.8 rebounds, and 7.9 assists per game, Jokic showcased his versatility and all-around impact on the court. Additionally, he demonstrated his defensive prowess with 1.5 steals and 0.9 blocks per game.

With a Player Efficiency Rating (PER) of 32.94, Jokic held the highest rating in the NBA. While ranking as the 6th highest scorer in the league, he excelled as the second-best rebounder and displayed his exceptional passing skills once again, securing his position as the best passing big man in the NBA.

The previous season, Jokic was crowned MVP while averaging 26.4 points, 10.8 rebounds, and 8.3 assists per game, highlighting his consistency and ability to dominate the court.

Jokic Joins the Elite Back-to-Back MVPs

Securing back-to-back MVPs is a testament to a player’s sustained dominance over multiple seasons. Jokic has now joined an exclusive group of players who have achieved this remarkable feat. Larry Bird, Wilt Chamberlain, and Bill Russell are the only individuals in NBA history to have won the MVP for three consecutive seasons. Bird accomplished this with the Boston Celtics from 1983 to 1985, while Chamberlain received the honor during his time with the Philadelphia 76ers from 1965 to 1967. Likewise, Bill Russell won MVP three times consecutively with the Boston Celtics from 1960 to 1962.

List of Back-to-Back MVP Winners

  • Bill Russell: 1960, 1961, 1962
  • Wilt Chamberlain: 1965, 1966, 1967
  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar: 1970, 1971
  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar: 1975, 1976
  • Moses Malone: 1981, 1982
  • Larry Bird: 1983, 1984, 1985
  • Magic Johnson: 1988, 1989
  • Michael Jordan: 1990, 1991
  • Tim Duncan: 2001, 2002
  • Steve Nash: 2004, 2005
  • LeBron James: 2008, 2009
  • LeBron James: 2011, 2012
  • Steph Curry: 2014, 2015
  • Giannis ‘Greek Freak’ Antetokounmpo: 2019, 2020
  • Nikola Jokic: 2021, 2022

Alongside Jokic, LeBron James and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar also have two instances of winning the NBA MVP in consecutive seasons. LeBron accomplished this with the Cleveland Cavaliers in 2008 and 2009, and again with the Miami Heat in 2011 and 2012. Abdul-Jabbar achieved the feat with the Milwaukee Bucks in 1970 and 1971, and then replicated it with the Los Angeles Lakers in 1975 and 1976.

Multiple MVP Winners

Out of the many exceptional players who have graced the NBA, only fifteen individuals have won the MVP award more than once. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar tops the list with an impressive six MVP awards. He earned three of these accolades during his time with the Milwaukee Bucks (1971, 1972, and 1974) and added three more to his name with the Los Angeles Lakers (1976, 1977, and 1980).

Michael Jordan closely follows Abdul-Jabbar with five MVP titles, tied with Bill Russell for the second-highest number of MVP wins in NBA history.

List of Multiple MVP Winners

  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar: 6
  • Michael Jordan: 5
  • Bill Russell: 5
  • Wilt Chamberlain: 4
  • LeBron James: 4
  • Magic Johnson: 3
  • Larry Bird: 3
  • Moses Malone: 3
  • Tim Duncan: 2
  • Bon Petit: 2
  • Steve Nash: 2
  • Giannis ‘Greek Freak’ Antetokounmpo: 2
  • Karl Malone: 2
  • Steph Curry: 2
  • Nikola Jokic: 2

Wilt Chamberlain and LeBron James have both secured the MVP award four times, placing them among the elite few who have achieved this remarkable feat at least four times. Additionally, the three-time MVP club includes Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, and Moses Malone, each of whom left an indelible mark on the history of the sport.

With his back-to-back MVP wins, Jokic solidifies his place among the esteemed double MVP winners, a group that includes the likes of Giannis ‘Greek Freak’ Antetokounmpo, Steph Curry, Steve Nash, Tim Duncan, Karl Malone, and Bob Petit.


In conclusion, Nikola Jokic’s back-to-back NBA MVP wins reflect his exceptional skills, versatility, and impact on the Denver Nuggets. Despite facing challenges due to injuries to key players, Jokic demonstrated unparalleled leadership and performance, leading his team to a playoff berth. By achieving this remarkable feat, Jokic joins a select group of NBA icons who have left an indelible mark on the league’s history. With his remarkable consistency and all-around abilities, Jokic has undoubtedly established himself as one of the most exceptional players of his generation.


1. Has any player won the NBA MVP three times in a row?

No, only Larry Bird, Wilt Chamberlain, and Bill Russell have achieved the incredible feat of winning the NBA MVP three times consecutively.

2. How many MVPs has Nikola Jokic won?

Nikola Jokic has won the NBA MVP twice, consecutively in 2021 and 2022.

3. Who are the players with the most MVP wins in NBA history?

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar holds the record for the most MVP wins with six, followed by Michael Jordan and Bill Russell, who both have five MVP titles.

4. Which player won the MVP and led the league in scoring in the 2021-2022 season?

Joel Embiid led the league in scoring with an average of 30.6 points per game in the 2021-2022 season but finished as the runner-up in the MVP voting.

5. Who won the NBA MVP before Nikola Jokic?

Before Nikola Jokic, Giannis ‘Greek Freak’ Antetokounmpo won the NBA MVP in 2019 and 2020.

Doug I. Jones

Doug I. Jones

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, cons the all tetur adiscing elit