Predicting the Race for 2023 NBA Sixth Man of the Year: Herro, Poole, Brogdon Lead the Pack

2023 NBA Sixth Man of the Year Predictions: Top Contenders and Value Picks

Award Favorites

Tyler Herro, the reigning Sixth Man of the Year from the Miami Heat, is currently the frontrunner to win the prestigious award again in 2023. Despite trade rumors surrounding him, Herro’s explosive scoring ability off the bench last season, with averages of 20.7 points per game (ppg), 5.1 rebounds, and 4.0 assists, makes him a compelling choice. At +450 odds, he’s certainly worth considering.

Jordan Poole from the Golden State Warriors is a strong contender as well. Poole has emerged as a lethal 3-point shooter, reminiscent of the famed Splash Brothers duo. With a stable position in the Warriors’ lineup and his remarkable shooting skills, Poole stands at +600 odds to win the Sixth Man of the Year award in 2023.

Trade Rumors and their Impact

Trade rumors have been swirling around Tyler Herro and Jordan Clarkson from the Utah Jazz during the offseason. While their potential trades could lead to starting roles on new teams, it’s advisable to be cautious before placing bets on them for the Sixth Man of the Year award. Waiting until closer to the start of the season may provide more clarity on their roles and increase the accuracy of your bets.

Underdogs with Potential

Looking beyond the favorites, there are several players with intriguing odds and potential to surprise in the 2023 NBA Sixth Man of the Year race.

Malcolm Brogdon, who joined the Boston Celtics in a trade with the Indiana Pacers, was specifically acquired to bolster their bench. With the Celtics utilizing him as a versatile Sixth Man and occasional spot starter, Brogdon’s odds of +1800 make him an enticing option.

Kevin Love, the steady veteran from the Cleveland Cavaliers, showed his value as a Sixth Man during an impressive season despite injuries. As long as he remains healthy, Love’s reliable offense, leadership, and odds of +2000 could earn him his first-ever Sixth Man of the Year award.

Bones Hyland, the promising rookie for the Denver Nuggets, made a significant impact off the bench last season. Despite the return of Jamal Murray and the addition of Kentavious Caldwell-Pope to the starting lineup, Hyland is expected to anchor the second unit and contribute substantially. With odds of +2000, he is a dark horse choice for the award.

Cam Johnson played a crucial role as the Sixth Man for the Phoenix Suns, who had an outstanding season. Johnson’s ability to provide an offensive boost off the bench granted him recognition, and he’s likely to resume his role in the upcoming year. At +3000 odds, he presents an intriguing opportunity.

Norman Powell, who joined the LA Clippers via a trade with the Portland Trail Blazers, is set to offer valuable scoring support behind stars Kawhi Leonard and Paul George. Powell’s odds of +3500 make him an underdog worth considering, especially considering the Clippers’ history of success in the Sixth Man of the Year category.

Additional Odds and Players to Watch

While the favorites and underdogs mentioned above present compelling cases, there are several other players in the mix for the 2023 NBA Sixth Man of the Year award:

  • Immanuel Quickley (+2500)
  • Bobby Portis (+2500)
  • Andernee Simons (+2500)
  • Cam Johnson (+3000)
  • Bogdan Bogdanovic (+3000)
  • Spencer Dinwiddie (+3000)
  • Norman Powell (+3500)
  • Davion Mitchell (+4000)
  • Brandon Clarke (+4000)
  • Montrezl Harrell (+4500)
  • Luke Kennard (+5000)
  • De’Anthony Melton (+5000)
  • Coby White (+5000)
  • Obi Toppin (+5000)

These players also possess the potential to make their mark on the race for Sixth Man of the Year, and their performances throughout the season could significantly impact their odds and chances of winning the award.


The 2023 NBA Sixth Man of the Year award is shaping up to be a fascinating competition with multiple viable contenders and intriguing underdogs. Tyler Herro and Jordan Poole lead the list as favorites, but considering the impact of trade rumors on Herro and Clarkson, caution is advisable before placing bets.

Malcolm Brogdon, Kevin Love, Bones Hyland, Cam Johnson, and Norman Powell are among the underdog candidates worth considering, each with their unique skills and circumstances that could lead them to success.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Can a player win the Sixth Man of the Year award if they transition to a starting role?

No, the Sixth Man of the Year award is specifically designed to honor players who excel in a bench role, providing a significant impact off the bench rather than as starters.

2. How are the odds for the Sixth Man of the Year award determined?

Odds for the Sixth Man of the Year award are determined by sportsbooks based on various factors, including a player’s historical performance, role on the team, and the overall perception of their potential to have a significant impact off the bench.

3. Are there any previous winners who have won the award multiple times?

Yes, several players have won the Sixth Man of the Year award multiple times, including Lou Williams and Jamal Crawford, who have each won the award three times, solidifying themselves as prolific bench scorers and valuable contributors.

4. How does the Sixth Man of the Year award contribute to a player’s reputation and career?

The Sixth Man of the Year award recognizes the importance of players who bring energy, scoring, and leadership off the bench. Winning the award often boosts a player’s reputation and can enhance their value in the league, leading to future opportunities and increased recognition for their contributions.

5. When will the winner of the 2023 NBA Sixth Man of the Year be announced?

The winner of the 2023 NBA Sixth Man of the Year award is typically announced during the NBA Playoffs, providing recognition for their outstanding performances throughout the regular season.

While the odds and predictions mentioned in this article provide insights into the potential outcome of the 2023 NBA Sixth Man of the Year award, the fluid nature of the game and unexpected developments during the season can always impact the final result. Stay tuned to the action and enjoy the excitement as the race for the award unfolds.

Doug I. Jones

Doug I. Jones

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, cons the all tetur adiscing elit