Wout van Aert Shines in Stage 20 ITT at 2022 Tour de France

Wout van Aert Secures Third Stage Win at 2022 Tour de France

In yet another impressive victory for Wout van Aert and Jumbo-Visma, the team achieved three consecutive stage wins at the 2022 Tour de France. The recent triumph came in Stage 20’s individual time trial, where van Aert showcased his exceptional skills once again.

Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) congratulating teammate Jonas Vingegaard

A Pivotal Stage with Challenging Terrain

The penultimate stage of the Tour de France featured a 40.7 km individual time trial that commenced in Castelnau-Magnoac and concluded in the medieval town of Cahors. This challenging time trial, being the longest in the past eight years, presented a significant opportunity for riders to demonstrate their strength and resilience.

Jonas Vingegaard, rider for Jumbo-Visma, secured second place in the time trial, inching closer to an official victory in Paris. Holding the yellow jersey since Stage 11, Vingegaard’s primary objective in Stage 20 was simply to avoid crashes and successfully maintain his position. Despite a close call, he fearlessly pushed forward and achieved a remarkable second-place finish.

Impressive Results in Stage 20

The Stage 20 individual time trial displayed outstanding performances by the riders. Here are the results:

  • Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) – 47:59
  • Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) – +0:19
  • Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) – +0:27

Reigning champion Tadej Pogacar from UAE Team Emirates secured the third position in the time trial, finishing 27 seconds behind van Aert and eight seconds behind his Jumbo-Visma teammate Vingegaard. Van Aert’s victory in Stage 20 marked his third stage win in this year’s Tour de France, following his previous victories in a bunch sprint at Stage 4 and a solo victory at Stage 8.

Wout van Aert triumphing at Tour de France

Van Aert’s Dominance in Stage 20

In Stage 20, known as the Castelnau-Magnoac to Cahors route, teams that had previously struggled sought their chance to claim a stage victory. Renowned time trial specialist Filippo Ganna from Ineos was considered a favorite to win this stage, but he was unable to match the spectacular performance of Wout van Aert. Van Aert demonstrated remarkable endurance, reserving energy for the final two climbs and completing the course with an impressive time of 47:59.

Reflecting on his achievement, van Aert shared, “It was a really fast time trial, but you had to keep something left for the final 6 km with two hard climbs. I paced my effort really well, allowing me to accelerate towards the end. Technically, I didn’t make any mistakes, and reaching the top of that beautiful village was a special experience.”

Although Vingegaard initially held a two-second lead over van Aert, he eased off slightly after a near crash on the descent of Cote de Mages. Van Aert patiently waited at the finish line in Rocamadour, where he emotionally reunited with his Jumbo-Visma teammate wearing the coveted yellow jersey.

“I’m overwhelmed with emotion,” expressed van Aert. “Competing in the Tour de France with this team is truly special. Today was like a dream scenario. Jonas is not only incredibly strong, but also a great person. I would like to express my gratitude to all my teammates and the entire team for these unforgettable three weeks. It’s truly unbelievable.”

The Tour de France jury unanimously awarded van Aert with the “super-combatif” award, recognizing his exceptional determination and combative spirit throughout the race. In addition to a special jersey, he received €20,000 in cash as a testament to his incredible performance.

Stage 21: Paris Finale

The final stage of the Tour de France holds a special place as a festive celebration. Enthusiastic fans will gather early in the morning, eager to secure the perfect vantage point along the iconic Champs-Elysees. Stage 21 covers a leisurely 115.6 km route through the streets of Paris, concluding at the Champs-Elysees.

This flat stage provides sprinters with their last opportunity to claim a stage victory. Teams that have not yet secured a win will be particularly motivated to make their mark in this stage. Despite already achieving three stage wins, Wout van Aert remains an intense competitor, determined to secure a fourth victory and back-to-back triumphs.

Among the sprinters, Jasper Philipsen from Alpecin-Deceuninck is the frontrunner with odds of +200, closely followed by Fabio Jakobsen from QuickStep-AlphaVinyl at +380, and van Aert himself not far behind at +400.

Final General Classification Standings

The overall General Classification (GC) standings for the 2022 Tour de France remained unchanged in the top four positions. However, there were notable shifts further down the rankings. Here are the final standings:

  • Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) – 76:33:57
  • Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) – +3:34
  • Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) – +8:13
  • David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ) – +13:56
  • Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) – +16:37

Jonas Vingegaard, from Jumbo-Visma, sealed his first-ever Tour de France victory, preventing Tadej Pogacar from securing a magnificent third consecutive win. Geraint Thomas, the 2018 champion, finished in third place, standing proudly on the podium following an impressive three weeks of racing.

Aleksandr Vlasov from Bora-Hansgrohe emerged as the new addition to the top five of the GC standings, showcasing a strong performance in Stage 20. Meanwhile, Nairo Quintana from Arkea-Samsic slipped to sixth position overall.

Stage 21: Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is the distance of Stage 21 of the Tour de France?

Stage 21 covers a distance of 115.6 km.

2. Will Stage 21 be a challenging stage for the riders?

No, Stage 21 is considered a flat stage and generally favors sprinters.

3. How many stage wins has Wout van Aert achieved in this year’s Tour de France?

Wout van Aert has secured a total of three stage wins in the 2022 Tour de France.

4. Who is the favorite sprinter for Stage 21?

Jasper Philipsen from Alpecin-Deceuninck is the favorite sprinter with odds of +200.

5. Who won the “super-combatif” award of the Tour de France?

Wout van Aert from Jumbo-Visma was honored with the “super-combatif” award.


The 2022 Tour de France has been an exhilarating journey, filled with remarkable performances and intense competition. Wout van Aert’s exceptional skills and indomitable spirit have propelled him to three stage victories, solidifying his position as a force to be reckoned with on the cycling stage.

As the Tour de France approaches its grand finale with Stage 21, fans eagerly anticipate the thrilling sprint finish on the iconic Champs-Elysees. Jonas Vingegaard is poised to claim his first-ever victory in Paris, thwarting Tadej Pogacar’s quest for a third consecutive win. The final stage promises excitement, as sprinters vie for one last chance to shine and etch their names in Tour de France history.

Picture of Doug I. Jones

Doug I. Jones

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, cons the all tetur adiscing elit